How Fiction Works (Paperback)

by James Wood

Format: Paperback 208 pages

5+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Price check

RRP £8.99

£7.19

You save: £1.80

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

Book details

Published
05/02/2009

Publisher
Vintage

ISBN
9781845950934


Other books by this author See all titles

 

Customers who bought this title, also bought...

The prices displayed are for website purchases only, and may differ to the prices in Waterstones shops.