The Emperor Akbar's Khamsah of Nizami - The British Library manuscripts in colour series (Paperback)

by Barbara Brend

Format: Paperback 64 pages

Not available on


Find on Marketplace

The Emperor Akbar's "Khamsah" ("quintet") is a collection of five books of stories, on romantic and heroic themes, composed by the Persian poet Nizami in the late 12th century. Akbar's richly illustrated copy of this work was made in 1595, probably at Lahore where his court was resident at the time, and is now one of the greatest treasures of Indian book painting in the British Library's collection. In this illustrated study of the manuscript, Barbara Brend provides an authoritative introduction to its artistic and historical backgound and brings to life some of the stories which it contains.

Book details


The British Library Publishing Division


Other books by this author See all titles

The prices displayed are for website purchases only, and may differ to the prices in Waterstones shops.