Janacek's Works: A Catalogue of the Music and Writings of Leoes Janaaecek (Hardback)

by Alena Demcova, Nigel Simeone

Format: Hardback 562 pages

Not in stock

Usually despatched in 2-3 weeks


Delivered FREE
in the UK

Leos Janacek (1854-1928) is one of the few great opera composers of the twentieth century; his operas, orchestral, chamber, and vocal works are all part of the international repertory. This catalogue is by far the most comprehensive to appear in any language, with up-to-date and reliable information on all his works. Each entry provides detailed information on date of composition (and shows on what basis dating has been arrived at); source of text or programme; performing forces; duration; manuscripts and their locations; publication (a complete listing); performances and productions; dedication; literature. A special feature is the explanation of terms which may be unfamiliar to the western reader such as 'Glagolitic', 'Varyto', 'Lachian', and 'Indian Club Swinging'. This catalogue is also the first to include a complete, annotated list of the composer's varied and extensive writings.

Book details


Clarendon Press


Other books by this author See all titles

The prices displayed are for website purchases only, and may differ to the prices in Waterstones shops.