Malorie Blackman

Waterstones Children's Laureate 2013 - 15

Malorie Blackman

Malorie Blackman is acknowledged as one of today's most imaginative and convincing writers for young readers. She trained in Computer Science and worked in computing, before publishing her first book at the age of 28, Not So Stupid!, a book of short stories.

Malorie's most well-known books for young adults are: Noughts And Crosses (2001); Knife Edge (2004); and Checkmate (2005), which form the Noughts And Crosses trilogy - the tale of two teenagers. In 2004 she also wrote a novel entirely in verse, Cloud Busting, which won a Nestlé Smarties Book Prize the same year. Double Cross was published in 2009 and her latest book is Boys Don't Cry.

The novels in her Noughts & Crosses series have won several awards, including the Children's Book Award. Both Hacker and Thief! won the Young Telegraph/Gimme 5 Award – Blackman is the only author to have won this award twice - while Hacker also won the WH Smith Mind-Boggling Books Award in 1994.

Blackman has also written a number of titles for younger readers. In 2005, she was honoured with the Eleanor Farjeon Award in recognition of her distinguished contribution to the world of children's books. She was born in 1962 in London and lives in Kent with her family.

Announced: Malorie Blackman is the new national Waterstones Children's Laureate! Find out more >

Fact file

Date of birth: 1962

Place of birth: London

Current Home: Kent

Similar Authors: Jacqueline Wilson, Louise Rennison

Watch Malorie Blackman introduce Noble Conflict

Noughts and Crosses