New Books

Refined by:

  • Science, Technology & Medicine
  • £5 - £10

Showing 1-10 of 11 titles

1 The Inheritor's Powder: A Cautionary Tale of Poison, Betrayal and Greed (Paperback)

by Sandra Hempel

Format: Paperback 312 pages
Published: 17/07/2014

In stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

New Books

RRP £8.99

£7.19

You save: £1.80


2 Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason (Paperback)

by Russell Shorto

Format: Paperback 336 pages
Published: 01/05/2014

In stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Reviews (1)

4 out of 5
New Books

RRP £9.99

£7.99

You save: £2.00


3 Call the Doctor: A Country GP Between the Wars, Tales of Courage, Hardship and Hope (Paperback)

by Ronald White-Cooper, Deborah White-Cooper

Format: Paperback 288 pages
Published: 24/04/2014

In stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

For fans of Call the Midwife and Nurse On Call, comes a funny, poignant account of life as a Devon country doctor. Read more

New Books

RRP £7.99

£5.99

You save: £2.00


4 The Bonobo and the Atheist: In Search of Humanism Among the Primates (Paperback)

by Frans de Waal

Format: Paperback 320 pages
Published: 08/04/2014

In stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

In this lively and illuminating discussion of his landmark research, esteemed primatologist Frans de Waal argues that human morality is not imposed... Read more

New Books

RRP £9.99

£8.99

You save: £1.00


5 A Brush With Nature: Reflections on the Natural World (Paperback)

by Richard Mabey

Format: Paperback 256 pages
Published: 10/07/2014

5+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Described as 'Britain's greatest living nature writer', the author has revealed his passion for the natural world in eloquent stories... Read more

New Books

RRP £9.99

£7.49

You save: £2.50


6 The Domesticated Brain: A Pelican Introduction (Paperback)

by Bruce Hood

Format: Paperback 352 pages
Published: 01/05/2014

10+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Why do we care what others think? What keeps us bound together? How does the brain shape our behaviour? This book deals with these questions. Read more

New Books

RRP £7.99

£6.39

You save: £1.60


7 Human Evolution: A Pelican Introduction (Paperback)

by Robin Dunbar

Format: Paperback 432 pages
Published: 01/05/2014

10+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

What makes us human? How did we develop language, thought and culture? Why did we survive, and other human species fail? This book deals with these... Read more

New Books

RRP £7.99

£6.39

You save: £1.60


8 Our Necessary Shadow: The Nature and Meaning of Psychiatry (Paperback)

by Tom Burns

Format: Paperback 384 pages
Published: 05/06/2014

In stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Reviews the historical development of psychiatry. In this book, the author shows that mental illnesses are intimately tied to that which makes us... Read more

New Books

RRP £10.99

£8.79

You save: £2.20


9 An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist (Paperback)

by Richard Dawkins

Format: Paperback 320 pages
Published: 24/04/2014

10+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Born to parents who were enthusiastic naturalists, and linked through his wider family to a clutch of accomplished scientists, the author was bound... Read more

New Books

RRP £8.99

£6.74

You save: £2.25


10 Everest - The First Ascent: The Untold Story of Griffith Pugh, the Man Who Made it Possible (Paperback)

by Harriet Tuckey

Format: Paperback 432 pages
Published: 10/04/2014

In stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

A doctor and physiologist, Griffith Pugh revolutionised almost every aspect of British high-altitude mountaineering, transforming the climbers'... Read more

New Books

RRP £9.99

£7.49

You save: £2.50